Historic Preservation Commission

Regular Meetings


  • 7 p.m.
  • 4th Monday of every month
  • Buggy Building
    115 Chatham Street
    Buggy Building Conference Room
    Sanford, NC

Agendas & Minutes


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View the most recent agendas and minutes.

Please note that applications for major work are due 3 weeks prior to a meeting.

2017 Meeting Schedule

Applications for major are work due 3 weeks prior to a meeting. *Meetings are not on the fourth Monday of the Month.
Month
Date
Certificate of Appropriateness Submission Deadline
January
Monday, January 23
December 30
*February
Monday, February 20
January 30
March
Tuesday, March 27
March 6
April
Monday, April 24
April 3
May
Monday, May 22
May 1
June
Monday, June 26
June 5
July
Monday, July 24
June 30
August
Monday, August 28
August 7
September
Monday, September 25
September 1
October
Monday, October 23
October 2
November
Monday, November 27
November 6
*December
Monday, December 18
November 27

Description


Sanford / Lee County Development provides staff support for The Sanford Historic Preservation Commission (HPC). The HPC works to protect Sanford's architectural heritage by nominating properties and districts to the National Register of Historic Places, and establishing local historic districts where residents desire protection of their neighborhood's historic resources.

Sanford has four National Register Historic Districts:
Property owners in National Register Districts are eligible for state and federal tax credits for substantial rehabilitation projects, which are approved in advance by the State Historic Preservation Office. Sanford's two Local Historic Districts are Downtown Sanford and Rosemount McIver Park.

Learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission.