Historic Preservation Commission

Regular Meetings


  • 7 p.m.
  • 4th Monday of every month
  • Buggy Building
    115 Chatham Street
    Buggy Building Conference Room
    Sanford, NC

Agendas & Minutes


Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View the most recent agendas and minutes.

Please note that applications for major work are due 3 weeks prior to a meeting.

2018 Meeting Schedule

Applications for major are work due 3 weeks prior to a meeting. *Meetings are not on the fourth Monday of the Month.
Month
Date
Certificate of Appropriateness Submission Deadline
December
Monday, December 18
November 27
January Monday, January 22
December 22
*February
Monday, February 19
January 19
*March
Tuesday, March 19
February 26
April
Monday, April 23
April 2
*May
Monday, May 21
April 30
June
Monday, June 25
June 4
July
Monday, July 23
July 2
August
Monday, August 27
August 6
September
Monday, September 24
August 31
October
Monday, October 22
October1
November
Monday, November 26
November 5
*December
Monday, December 17
November 26

Description


Sanford / Lee County Development provides staff support for The Sanford Historic Preservation Commission (HPC). The HPC works to protect Sanford's architectural heritage by nominating properties and districts to the National Register of Historic Places, and establishing local historic districts where residents desire protection of their neighborhood's historic resources.

Sanford has four National Register Historic Districts:
Property owners in National Register Districts are eligible for state and federal tax credits for substantial rehabilitation projects, which are approved in advance by the State Historic Preservation Office. Sanford's two Local Historic Districts are Downtown Sanford and Rosemount McIver Park.

Learn more about the Historic Preservation Commission.