Sanford City Council

Due to concerns about COVID-19, Sanford City Council will hold its meetings and workshops at the Dennis Wicker Civic Center, located at 1801 Nash Street. To be alerted of upcoming meetings and workshops, subscribe to receive Municipal Notices via email or text.

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • City Hall Council Chambers
    225 E Weatherspoon Street
    Sanford, NC 27331

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Sanford City Council

Council Members

The City of Sanford is governed by:

Duties & Responsibilities

The City of Sanford has a council-manager form of government. The Governing Body consists of the Mayor and seven Council members-5 from specific wards and 2 at large. The Mayor is the presiding officer for the Council. Council members are elected for four-year terms.

The Council is responsible for establishing general policies for the City; appointing the City Manager, City Clerk, and members of various boards and commissions; enacting ordinances, resolutions and orders; reviewing the annual budget; and authorizing contracts on the City’s behalf.


The City Council meets the first and third Tuesday at 6 p.m. of each month in Council Chambers at the Municipal Building at 225 E Weatherspoon Street in Sanford. The City Council meets the second Tuesday of each month in the West End Conference Room at 5 p.m. Special meetings may be called in accordance with G.S. 160A-71.

Public Viewing

The public is welcome to attend the meetings in the Council Chambers, watch the meeting televised on Sanford TV191 on Charter Communications or view the meeting online. Public comment is open during the first and third Tuesday Council Meetings. Please sign up 15 minutes prior to the meeting with the City Clerk.